United Nations Security Council
The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is the maximum eligible organ of the United Nations. It includes fifteen member states. Five of them, particularly the Russian Federation, the United States of America, the People’s Republic of China, Republic of France and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, are permanent and veto-wielding members, which means that that their disapproval of a resolution shall bring about the failure of it. The Security Council takes the lead in determining the existence of a threat to the peace or act of aggression. It calls upon the parties to a dispute to settle it by peaceful means and recommends methods of adjustment or terms of settlement. In some cases, the Security Council can resort to imposing sanctions or even authorize the use of force to maintain or restore international peace and security. Our first agenda item for the United Nations Security Council is the territorial disputes around the South China Sea. It is one of the most important and busy waterways in the world. China claims around 80% of it which makes it even harder to negotiate. This has been a problem unsolvable for decades. Thus, delegates will be put in a tough political situation to reshape the landscape of the region. The other agenda will be covering the disputes and armed conflicts in the Libyan region. The fact that there is no proper government and the disputes between the GNA and the Libyan National Army makes it even harder to find a common ground.
Agenda Item 1:
Territorial Disputes in the South China Sea
Agenda Item 2:
Addressing the dispute in Libya